Your name is on it

My daughter is looking for a job.  She wants a paying job that she can do after school.  I am ambivalent – not encouraging her to get a job, but also not discouraging her either.  Not discouraging that is until we drove by the tanning salon.  “Dad, think they would hire me?”  “Honey, tanning is not healthy.  Even a small amount of time in a tanning booth increases a person’s likelihood of getting cancer.”  “Are you kidding me?  I know that and it has nothing to do with anything, I just want the money.”

Well, well, a real in your face teaching moment.  Moms and Dads – I tried.  Honestly, did the best I could. 

I am not Seth Godin, so I only wish I had thought to ask her if she would put her name on the tanning salon.  Emily R’s Tanning Salon of Wales, Wisconsin.  That might have helped me, maybe. 

One of Seth Godin’s marketing secrets goes like this:

       Would you put your name on it?  If you wouldn’t then don’t do it, because your name is on it. 

One response to “Your name is on it

  1. *** Today’s Tip: AVOID TANNING BEDS
    To help fight winter doldrums, many people visit tanning salons. Not a good idea. It’s important to know that artificial ultraviolet (UV) light exposure from tanning booths and beds is NOT a treatment for winter depression—also called seasonal affective disorder, or SAD.
    Moreover, it can increase the risk of premature aging, eye damage and skin cancer. On average, indoor tanners are 74 percent more likely to develop melanomas than non-tanners. Instead of tanning, try getting regular exercise; it can help fight the winter blues.

    Source: Skin Cancer Foundation

Leave a Reply

