American Cars

I enjoyed our class discussion on American Cars.  From Cars.com, I found this ranking of, “Most American Cars.”  The nation-dominant versus brand-dominant hierarchy captures the marketing insight that consumers will first consider the country (Germany, Japan, USA, Sweden, etc.) before considering the brand of car.  “I want a German car, so I will look at BMW and Volkswagen.”

Cars.com’s American-Made Index highlights the cars that are built here, have the highest amount of domestic parts (greater than 75%), and are bought in the largest numbers by Americans.  

As of 7/01/08

1.  Ford F-150 (Missouri and Michigan)

2.  Chevrolet Cobalt (Ohio)

3.  Chevrolet Malibu (Kansas)

4.  Pontiac G6 (Michigan)

5.  Toyota Tundra (Indiana and Texas)

6- 10 Toyota Sienna, Honda Odyssey, Chevrolet Silverado, Chrysler Sebring, Ford Explorer. 

For the full article and the information on the American Automobile Labeling Act, click here.

4 responses to “American Cars

  1. It seems to me that people are getting more into the quality of the car moreso if it’s an american car or not. People want a car that’s durable and can run longer a single tank of gas for more miles. In times like these even the people who are more into if it’s american or not will go toward what’s the better buy for the quality of the car.

  2. Tonja Rogers-Williams

    The article presented here supports the comments I made in class Monday. At the end of the article the writer says that it is hard to determine the domestic content of vehicles and noted that they used a sticker on the vehicle. I don’t think most Americans can realistically gauge which car has 60% versus 75% domestic part, but I do think most Americans now the top dealers who produce American made cars and those who see American made cars go to those dealers and mostly don’t consider the percentage of foreign parts in the vehicle. I recognize ,however, and concede that the deligent consumer may take the time to compare percentage, I believe they are in the minority.

  3. I too agree with Johnni, i think that most people are looking more for quiilty and getting the most for their money. I myself, will alawy drive an American made car, perferabbly a Ford.

  4. AS FAR AS I AM CONCERNED I WANT A CAR THAT IS RELIABLE AND COST EFFICIENT, AND GOOD ON GAS THAT WILL GET ME TO WHERE I NEED TO GO. I WOULD RATHER HAVE AN AMERICAN MADE CAR BECAUSE THEY ARE CHEAPER TO FIX THAN FOREIGN CARS AND THE PARTS FOR AN AMERICAN CAR ARE EASIER TO FIND IN MY EXPERIENCE.

Leave a Reply

